Places of interest

+90 533 259 8376

Gocek Rental Wordpress

Places of interest

Places to go around Gocek

Spend time sailing around the stunning 12 islands and bays of Gocek. Yassıca Island, Hamam Bay, Kurşunlu Bay, Yavansu, Bedri Rahmi Bay, Tersane Island, Göbün Bay, Boynuzbükü, Göcek Island, Domuz Island, Zeytin Island, Kızıl Island can be reached via daily boat tours from Fethiye and Göcek.

Referred to as “the eden bestowed by god to the world.” Blue Lagoon (Ölüdeniz) is a natural nature reserve surrounded by pine forests and stunning long, white sandy beaches. Paragliders sore down from the peaks of the 1975m Babadağı mountain viewing one of the most breathtaking panoramas in the world.

This hidden city is 50 km from Fethiye within the territories of Kayadibi Village. High in the mountains above rushing torrents cut a narrow canyon through the mountains creating Saklikent gorge. 18km long and 600m in height, it is a unique tourism centre for mountaineering, trekking and swimming.

Follow the road leading from Kaya Köyü and descend to the beautiful Gemiler beach, surrounded by pine and olive trees.  Gemiler bay faces St Nicholas Island where the Byzantine ruins of a monastery lie tucked among the olive groves, once the residence of St Nicholas.

Founded on the Antic Xanthos stream in Ören Village, 40 km from Fethiye, this extraordinary water spring is subject to mythological stories.  Ancient ruins, turkish baths and aqueducts of the Bizantium period are remaining from the old city.

The city is situated on the land across the Dalyan strait at Ortaca.  According to the poet Ovidius, Miletos had twins - Caunus and Byblis.  During adolescence, Byblis felt an enormous love for her twin and grew most possessive.  Though well aware of the unnatural aspect of her love, Byblis sent a letter of declaration to Caunus whereupon the mythological king was both enraged and disgusted.  To avoid meeting her, he escaped from Miletos, to the Carian and Lycian border where he founded the city of Caunus.

Cezayirli mosque was constructed by Cezayirli Hasan Pahsa in 1791.  Hasan Pahsa also acquired various works of art such as Kemer Köprüsü (Arc Bridge).
It is thought that the castle, ascending at the south of the city, belonged to the knights of Saint John.  There are two small rocky tombs on the eastern face of the hill with an indefinite history and a few writings carved on the walls.

The Likya rock tombs date back to the 4th century B.C.  These beautiful and magnificent tombs, excavated from natural rocks, became the symbol of the ancient city Amintas.  At the middle part of the left column, "Herparnias’s son, Amintas” is written in 4th century B.C. alphabet.  There are lots of tombs in the province.  The most important ones are those belonging to the Lycian period. 
Katranci bay, 17 km away from Fethiye, is covered with dense pine trees extending to the sea, an ideal camping place with showers and WC facilities.
An ideal place to watch the sun go down, Calis beach has 4 km of pebbled beach lined with many hotels, bars and restaurants.

These two towns are the nearest places to stay to Ölüdeniz beach (Blue Lagoon).  There are many shops, bars, restaurants and hotels catering mainly to European tourists.  
On looms found in most homes, a local pure cotton material (known as’Dastar’) is woven by the village women.  Table clothes & curtains are among the finished products available.

Kayakoy, 8km south of Fethiye, is a Greek settlement founded in the 14th century.  It was where Greek christians lived until approximately 1923.    The town is now preserved as a museum village, consisting of many Greek-style houses and churches.  According to a “population exchange” agreement signed between Turkish and Greek goverments in 1922, Greek population of Kayaköy was exchanged with Turkish population residing in Western Thrace.
Located 28 km from Fethiye, Tlos is one of the oldest residential areas of Lycia and one of the few cities that continued its existence up to the 19th Century.  Tlos was known as “the sports centre” of the Lycian Federation and was the home of the mythological winged horse, Pegasus, and his hero Bellorophonte.  An Acropolis, the temple type tomb of Bellorophonte, the Stadium, the Roman Bath complex (with its great views) and amphitheatre are some of the structures that remain quite well preserved.  The nearby trout farms are an oasis on a hot summers day, serving delicious lunches.

A recently excavated city, Oenanda is located near İncealiler Village, about 88 km from Fethiye.  British and Turkish archaeologists discovered about 300 scribed tablets by the Lycian Epicurean Philosopher, Dioghenes.

Letoon was a holy city, dedicated to the Goddess Leto.  Located at Kumluova Village and 4 km from Xanthos, it is known that all holy ceremonies were performed here by the priests of the temples of Leto, Artemis and Apollon.

The Lycians “Beauty Center”, Pınara is on the way to Minare village and can be reached by a short road branching off from the Fethiye – Kaş highway.  Numerous Pigeon Hole type simple tombs carved into the cliff faces, a hearth planned Aphrodite Temple with fine friezes and a well preserved amphitheatre are probably the most interesting remains of Pınara.

The ancient city of Cadianda is located near Üzümlü village, about 20 km from Fethiye.  Fine examples of Cyclops Walls, a sport complex, theatre and Heroon like temple tombs are all worth seening, as are the magnificient views over Fethiye.